Monday, 3 September 2012

How To Delete a hard disk partition

KYD Evolution: Deleting Partitions
I have come across situations where after creating partitions, i later find them no longer useful and i feel the need to delete them.
I know most people have also been in this situation so i'm gonna shed some light on it.
Before you can delete a partition from your system, then obviously you've got to have created a partition at one time or the other.
To find out to create a partition, click here.
To begin, you must be logged on as an administrator to perform the following steps.
When you delete a hard disk partition or volume (the terms partition and volume are often used interchangeably), you create empty space that you can use to
create new partitions or add them up to old or already created partitions using utility tools like Easeus Partition manager.
Note that if your hard disk is currently set up as a single partition, then you cannot delete it. You also cannot delete the system partition, boot partition,
or any partition that contains the virtual memory paging file, because Windows needs this information to start correctly.
Warning: All data on a partition will be lost when you delete it. Be sure to back up any files that you want to save to a different location before you
continue.
Open Computer Management by clicking the Start button Picture of the Start button, clicking Control Panel, System and Maintenance, then
Administrative Tools, and finally double-clicking Computer Management. Or you could just type in the start menu search bar "computer management".
Administrator permission is required. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
  • In the Navigation pane, under Storage, click Disk Management.
  • Right-click the volume, such as a partition or logical drive, that you want to delete, and then click Delete Volume.
  • Click Yes to delete the volume.
The resulting empty space is called unallocated space if you deleted a primary partition, or free space if you deleted a logical drive within an extended
partition. You can now use the empty space to create additional volumes or add them to old partitions as mentioned previously. Dont forget to share.

Reactions:

0 comments:

Facebook Blogger Plugin: Bloggerized by AllBlogTools.com Enhanced by MyBloggerTricks.com

Post a Comment

Please drop your feedback in the comment box, for us to know how this post has helped. And don't forget to join, by using the 'Join this site' button on the right. Thank you

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blogger Widgets Twitter Bird Gadget